SNAP Analysis and cut-off

Most of you knew the pattern of SNAP 2007 beforehand, thanks to the specification in the exam’s e-brochure. Symbiosis lived up to its reputation and came up with an easy paper. Based on these observations, the broad strategies to follow while attempting this paper should have been:

  1. The number of attempts should have been 100 or more; if your average accuracy in Mocks (total correct / total attempts) tops 90%+.
  2. Attempts of 110 – 120 would have sufficed; if your average accuracy hovers around 80-85%.
  3. You should have attempted about 130 or more questions; if your average accuracy is of the order of 70-75%.
  4. Since the paper was lengthy, you should have been selective about the questions to attempt, especially in QA and DI.

Since all the sections were easy, it was at your discretion to choose which one to attempt first. However, you should have started with Logical Reasoning, given that the questions were 2-markers. Then, you could have attempted GK, because it does not take up too much time. EU, which was by and large easy, should have been next. Subsequently, you could have attempted QA and DI.

The overall breakup, with detailed sectional analysis, is given below: Overview
Total time = 120 minutes.
Total questions =150. Each question had four choices.
Negative marking = 25% of the maximum marks of the question.

Section No. of questions Total Marks Suggested Time Possible Attempts Possible scores
Quantitative Ability, Data Interpretation & Data Sufficiency

40

40

35 minutes

20-25

15-16
Logical Reasoning & Analytical Reasoning

30

60

40 minutes

18-20

30-32

General Awareness: General knowledge, Current affairs, Business scenario

40

40

15 minutes

20-25

15-16

General English

40

40

30 minutes

30-35

25-26

Total

150

200

120 minutes

88-105

85-90

Most important thing about SNAP is that all the Symbiosis institutes release the overall cut-off and none of them is reported to consider sectional cut-offs so far. Hence, you should have spent ample time on the area(s) in which you consistently score well.

Quantitative Ability, Data Interpretation & Data Sufficiency

Topic Number of Questions Level of Difficulty
Number System

1

Easy

Arithmetic

7

Easy

Algebra

0

-

Geometry

4

Easy

P&C and probability

3

Moderate

Reasoning and puzzles

3

Moderate

Data Interpretation

20 (TSD, Line Chart, DS, Pie Chart)

Moderate

Data Sufficiency

8

Easy

Total

40

Easy

The Quantitative Ability questions were of easy to moderate difficulty level. Most of them were direct; however, some of them involving a lot of calculations were not that easy. One set in DI with very close options should have been skipped. Also, the DI set on cars/trucks was the easiest one in the lot and should have been attempted. If the test taker had basic conceptual clarity; 20 or more marks could have easily been scored in this section.

Logical Reasoning & Analytical Reasoning

Topic Number of Questions Level of Difficulty
Critical reasoning

4

Moderate

Deductive logic & logical consistency

3

Difficult

Logical reasoning

6(3 sets)

Moderate

Visual reasoning

2

Difficult

Cross word

1

Moderate

P&C

2

Moderate

Miscellaneous (Coding, Decoding, Sequence & Series, etc.)

12

Average to Difficult

Total

30

 

A score of 30-32 could have been notched up in this section.

General Awareness Section:
This year’s GK section had 40 questions, a total of 40 marks in all.
Questions were asked from varied areas, like Static, Current and Business GK. The level of difficulty of the questions was easy to moderate. Barring some, many of the questions were attemptable. A regular reader of Management Compass and Gyan Dhara would have found this section easy. A minimum score of 15 was very much possible and achievable. Some of the memory-based questions were as follows

  1. Moonlight Sonata is a famous creation of …
  2. Indian Broadcasting Service was renamed in 1936 as…
  3. There was some IPO allotment problem; the question was regarding the interim order that was passed in this case by which body?
  4. Myanmar Monks were protesting recently against what?
  5. Zapak.com is a venture of…
  6. What is a blog (this was asked in an indirect manner)?
  7. Mittal was tying up with India in which fields?
  8. Bollywood was a trademark that was given officially to…
  9. How many chromosomes are there in a human cell?
  10. Which country is the Largest FDI contributor in India?
  11. The largest newspaper in terms of reading as per a recent survey was…
  12. When was the Governor General’s rule ended in India?
  13. Which of the following is NOT a Constitutional body:
  14. Radio signals were maximally influenced in which region?
  15. Major oil fields were recently discovered in?
  16. Pakistan recently signed a Free Trade Agreement with?
  17. There were four deals that were given and one was asked to identify the deal that was NOT worth $ 1 billion
  18. Name the US-based Toys Company that recalled its toys from the market after they were found to contain toxic elements
  19. Mitsubishi produces vehicles in collaboration with which automobile major in India?
  20. Phishing means what?
  21. Which of the following is the busiest port in the world?
  22. Ruppiah was issued during the period of…
  23. Monsoon is caused due to what?
  24. Indian Railways earned profit worth …in 2006.

General English Section

Topic Number of Questions Level of Difficulty
RC

19 (4 passages)

Easy

Vocabulary-based question (analogy + synonyms +antonyms + multiple usage + spellings)

10

Easy

Para-jumbles

2

Easy

Grammar & usage (parts of speech +idioms + punctuation +passive voice + prepositions + pronouns)

9

Easy

Total

40

Easy

There were 4 short passages, which included 2 excerpts from articles written by David Ewing Duncan and Nelson Vinod Moses. The subjects ranged from Psychology and Science to Politics and Business. Questions on spellings, grammar and word usage were easy. Overall, within a time span of 30 minutes a score of 25 could have been scored easily in this section.

Likely cut-offs for various institutes:

Institute Cut-off
SIBM 85+
SCMHRD 80+
SIIB, SIOM 72+
SIMC, SCIT, SITM, SIMS 62+

Disclaimer: All information on cut-offs, analysis, answer key, solutions and scores are based on independent analysis and evaluation made by Career Launcher. We do not take responsibility for any decision that might be taken based on this information.

110 Responses

  1. this is vinit agarwal..
    this year i have given cat nd iift as well
    i m expecting 105+in cat (24+qa 60+di 20+eng) wht r the chances, even for iim shilong.
    i did expect 28= in iift but i didnt get through, but still believe tht cutoff has to be 25-28,, wht do u think

  2. Hi,

    I am expecting a score of 75+ and have a work ex of 1+ years as of now in Tech mahindra limited and have done my BE in computers..
    Shud i apply 2 SCMHRD and SIBM? Do i have an edge over other students coz of wrk ex?

  3. I think the cutoffs which u have calculated shud go much higher because the paper was very easy and most of the people have attempted a handy of 80+ Q’s.

  4. You should not ask CAT’s details(form no.,ID,ect) to register.

  5. ZAPAK – Reliance Entertainment
    2. Koneru Humpy- Chess
    3. Human body – 46 chromosomes
    4. Tyeb mehta, Manjit bawa- Painters
    5. Runner up in Vice-presidential elections – Najma Heptullah
    6. Indo-Pak Express- Bopanna and Quereshi
    7. Monsoon is caused due to: Reversal of winds
    8. Deal which wasn’t worth a billion dollars – IBM-Bharti
    9. Highest FDI Inflow from – Mauritius
    10. CRR – Cash Reserve Ratio
    11. Indian Railways Profit – Rs.20000 Crore
    12. Way to convey personal experiences and get feedback – Blogs
    13. Phishing – Way to get PINs and passwords, credit card details
    14. Mitsubishis partner in India – Hindustan Motors
    15. Worlds Largest Economies – USA, Japan, Germany
    16. Movie not directed by Mira Nair – Earth
    17. UK Airport Bombing – Glasgow
    18. Monks marching in Burma – To protest against the oppressive Military Rule
    19. Pakistan signed FTA with – Malaysia
    20. Sugar-Free belongs to – Cadila
    21. Moonlight Sonata-Beethoven
    22. Largest Selling Newspaper – The Times Of India
    23. India’s largest BPO Employer – Genpact
    24. In God we trust, everybody else bring data to the table – N. R. Narayana Murthy
    25. Radio Waves are most affected by – Ionosphere
    26. Egg does not contain – Vitamin C
    27. Landmark judgement by Chennai High Court against – Novartis
    28. Post of Governor-General of India lasted till– 26th January, 1950
    29. Indian Broadcasting Company was renamed in 1936 as – All India Radio
    30. IPO Scam regulating authority – SEBI
    31. U.S Company recalling toys – Mattel Toys

    These are the questions, whose answers I don’t know:

    32. Busiest Port in the world- This one could be controversial : Singapore
    33. Not in Constitution- Finance commission
    34. American Studio which got “Bollywood” trademark -
    35. Not a primary UNO Body- WHO
    36. Mittal bid with Indian Govt. – Oil
    37. oil recently found in -
    38. The exchange rate which has reversed – Dollar-Euro
    39. Introduction of Rupaiya – Sher Shah Suri
    40. Name of coffee Starbucks taken from a book – Moby D.I.C.K

  6. i think i will go with anjan bcoz mines r also same.

  7. i have got how many mark i am totally anaware for that

  8. My expectation in SNAP 2007 is 70+ .So, to which institute I should apply for?I have completed my graduation in BCom and want to take up specialization of either Finance or Mrketing and is dual specialization is worth going for?Please help me out.

  9. My expectation in SNAP 2007 is 70+ .So, to which institute I should apply for? I have completed my graduation in BCom and want to take up specialization of either Finance or Marketing and is dual specialization is worth going for? Please help me out.

  10. Got a score of 79.25 in SNAP and have applied to SIBM, SCMHRD & SIIB. I have also got a work ex of more than 5 year. what are my chances.

  11. sir i hav got a score of 58.75 in SNAP 2007.shld i apply for ny of d institutes??
    Please help me out.

  12. i have scored 91 in SNAP 2007. can you tell me the institutions i could get a call from?

  13. what college are likely to get at 49 percentile
    in CAT2007

  14. Sir, I secured only 44.25 marks overall in SNAP 2007.Will I call from SIIB,SITM and SCHMRD.
    Please email positively.
    MOBILE NO. *******58
    yours, Aakriti Verma

  15. Sir,
    I secured 708.5 marks in MAT DEC..2007. Please tell me the Top colleges of MAT. I eagarly waiting for your reply.
    Aakriti Verma
    CL.BAREILLY

  16. I have got a score of 79.5.
    what are the chances of getting a call from scmhrd?
    My acads are not too good
    in 10th 64% 12th 71% Btech 72.3%
    working in wipro for the last one month

  17. sir,i have got 38.25 in snap.can i get the call from siib-AB.

  18. sir/madam,
    i have 77 percentile in cat but 10 percentile in quant alone,83 in english,88 in reasoning + di. have filled forms of lbsim,fore,bimtech. please tell me where all i can expect a call from.what about welingkar,is it a decent college. if u have any other names of colleges i should apply to now.
    i have 63.5 score in snap.will i get a call for siib.but my score in quant+di is only 6.what about sims.i am a defence dependent.is there any all india standing for sims. am really confused.i did b.com hons from jesus and mary college,DU.got 63.4 % overall. 10th 83.2%. 12th commerce with maths 91.2%.

    thankyou so much.

  19. sir,
    my score is 58.5 can i expect call from scit,sicsr,siom
    my accademic record is as follows..
    btech(cse)-79.24%
    xiith-84.8%
    xth-78.8%

  20. sir,
    my snap score is 46 n i only filled SMHRD …..my cat score is 71%ile and in what all pune,mumbai colleges i should apply…plz reply sooon ..m worried!!!!!!!

  21. sir;
    these r my scores:
    cat %ile -42
    snap score – 22
    xat %ile – 39
    which colleges i should apply

  22. after giving snap test i hav to fill the form of all colleges under snap to take admission, or only filling up of one college form will enough to take admission

  23. I am not preparing for CAT, i m good in verbal section and some where in G.K also, i want to attend SNAP test,can it possible to crack SNAP in just 3 months without any coaching.

  24. I’M NOT APPEARING FOR CAT.I’M GOOD AT QA AND DI, BUT NOT SO GOOD AT ENGLISH. CAN U PLEASE SUGGEST ME SOME ENTRANCE TEST WHICH DONT REQUIRE MUCH OF ENGLISH..

  25. SIR, CAN YOU PLEASE GIV ME ANY IDEA FOR THIS YEARS CUT OFF’S MARKS IN SNAP EXAM????
    ACTUALLY I HAD COMPLETED B.SC(IT) AND INTERESTED IN DOING MBA- IT
    SO PLEASE LET ME KNW WHICH COLLEGES PREFER THIS AND ALSO AGGREGATE CUT OFF’S.
    PLEASE HELP ME OUT

  26. sir i had scored 57 marks in cat 2008 do i will get admission in any of the colleges

  27. sir,
    i m getting minimum of 58 marks in cat ,

    can i get a decent college??
    please help
    wht abt BIMTECH

  28. i an ritin snap pn dec 2008 and i am really worried about it!!!
    are they any sectional cut offs !! i’m not at allll good at G.k,
    avg in D.I ,avg in quant and vocab….
    how am i 2 preparee..what ver the cut offs for snap in all the institutes last year…
    plzz reply…

  29. dear sir/mam,
    pls tell me expected cut off of snap2008?

  30. in 2008 I am going for SNAP. Can any body tell me that which SNAP colleges are giving more emphasis on work ex.because i am fresher.
    my academics os as follows
    X-86%
    XII-79%
    B.Sc-56%(calcutta university)
    Can i apply for SIBM,SCMHRD,SIIB with this academics & having no work ex,of with a good score of 80 in snap.pls tell me because i have to take the forms of the colleges

  31. hellow sir,
    can u suggest me any magzin for GK,capturing all the current events?the types of GK questions generally ask in SNAP…

  32. is there any section cut-off in snap??????

    i am a current cl student……..

  33. hello,
    is there any sectional cut off in snap 08. its a mystery as nothing is mentioned anywhere and its anyone’s guess. . does symbi consider sectional cut-off’s?

    English is not my strongest area and i wish to dedicate least time to it if there are no sectional cut-offs.. will that be a correct strategy?

  34. is there any sectional cut off in snap 08.??? want to get into SIBM-PUNE or BANGLORE…. plz.. help me out…

  35. hey,friends i just reviewed my SNAP 2008 paper after my exam.i found i am getting score as 25.so,,can anyone of you teel me are there any chances of me getting into any of the Symbiosis institutes.Please do reply me.God Bless.Merry Christmas.

  36. I HV JST REWIED MY SCORE OF SNAP 2008, IT IS BETWEEN 30-40, WITH THIS KIND OF SCORE WHICH INSTITUTE I SHLD APPLY FOR?
    LEMME KNW THE INSTITUTES WHCH ACCEPT BELOW 60 IN SNAP……
    IS THERE SECTIONAL WISE CUTTOFF IN SNAP 2008

    PLZ REPLY
    REGARDS
    TAISEEN

  37. ihave apeared for this year in snap my score is not good is 55 can i apply in any college of symbiosis and please tell me about cutoff of simc andscit and placement and fee structure on my mail for this year

  38. ihave secured only 45.0 marks in the snap-2008 what should ido kindly suggest me which college should be elligible for

  39. what is the cut off for snap 08 . is there any sectional cut off what are the cut offs for SCMHRD, SIMC ?

  40. i have got 41score in snap.can you please tell me which institutes of symbiosis should i apply for?

  41. My SNAP 08 score is falling at 47 ..I’m a defense personal dependent..Can i expect a call from SIMS..I have fared badly in General Awareness..

  42. i have got only 32 marks in snap .pls suggest me the colleges for which i should apply.
    pls rply soon

  43. i have scored 50 marks in snap 2008 . please suggest which colleges i should apply for?

  44. i got 60 marks in snap. plez advise
    me

  45. i hv got 48+ in snap ,97.07% ile in MAT plz suggest me abt colleges especially in symbiosis

  46. sir,i have got 31 marks in snap and i have sc reservation so plz tell me the coleges in snap for which i should apply,plz reply soon

  47. sir
    i have got 90.71 percentile marks in MAT dec,59.5 in SNAP,72.5 IRMA.which college should i apply for.
    i m intrested in doing mba in HR.

  48. i ve got 72 in snap.
    should i fill the schmrd form?

  49. i ve got 99.97% in mat. how good is alliance which i think is its best college.

  50. hey i hv scored 41 m,arks in SNAP….which coll can i get?
    plz suggest……

  51. SIR I M GETTING 44-45 IN SNAP, ALSO I’am DEFENSE PERSONAL DEPENDENT. DO I STAND ANY CHANCE IN SIMS..PLEASE REPLY

  52. sir i have scored 40 in snap2008.
    can i get chance in sims

  53. sir I am geting 79.5 marks in all .

    whr can i expect calls frm?
    I have filled scmhrd, sibm n siib.
    pls let me know asap.

    thank u.

  54. hi my score in snap is 42+ i have filled siib.what my chance.pls tell me.

  55. sir,
    i hav scored 39 in snap. can u pls list me the colleges that i can expect a call from???

    pls lemme knw asap
    thank u

  56. sir m getting oveall 45 marks,
    can i apply for SITM.. .
    plz let me know your suggestion . .

  57. Sir i have scored 48 marks in SNAP 2008 according to the TCY analysis so please advice me to which college i shd apply to get call…
    please reply.////

  58. Sir i have scoredt 45 marks in snap test..
    please suggest me the college to which i can apply..

  59. I’ve got 50 marks in SNAP 2009 and 96.77 percentile in MAT 2009. Please suggest me which colleges should I apply to.
    Thank you

  60. i have got 31.5 mark in snap .please suggest me college to which i apply

  61. i have got 55 marks in SNAP 2009.my humble request to you suggest me good colleges EARLY.
    THANK YOU.

  62. Hi,

    My SNAP score is 54.5. I have full time work-ex of around 20 months in a leading engineering company of India.
    Is that enough for getting a call from SIMS? (Im a defence personnel dependent).

    Regds

  63. I am expecting somewhere around 45 in SNAP ’09. Please suggest me some of the institutes where i can apply. I have completed my B.E. in Medical Electronics.

  64. i have got 51 marks in SNAP 2009.my humble request to you suggest me good colleges EARLY.
    THANK YOU.

  65. Hi,

    My SNAP score is 69.75. I have full time work-ex of around 20 months in a leading shipping co.what are my chances of getting call 4m scmhrd and siib….should i also fill sibm

  66. my expected marks in snap 2008 is 60 marks ………. which forms should i have to fill ………. plz suggest me.

  67. Hi,

    I have only got 33.5 marks in Snap. I have filled the form of SIBM, SCIT. Is there any possiblity to get the admission in the above mentioned institutes.

    Sections Marks Scored Max Marks
    General English: 6.75 40
    Quantitative 3.25 40
    General Awareness 5.5 40
    Analytics 18 60
    Total 33.5 180

    I have experience of 1 Year. I have completed my B.E in I.T.

    Please reply and let me know in case you need more information.

    Have a Nice Day!!!

    Thanks & Regards,
    Awadhesh Yadav

  68. sir my score in snap is 36.25 do i stand ne chance for simc
    although my score is43 after doubling the english scores and halving quant scores as stated by simc

  69. sir…i got 82.14 percentile in cat-09.cud u plz help wt all r the colleges tht wud take this score…..plz help me out

  70. SIR I GOT 46 SCORE IN SNAP TEST, CAT 83 PERCENTILE AND MAT 99.24
    WHICH COLLEGE SHOULD I FILL IN
    AND WHAT ABT. A CALL FROM AMY SNAP COLL.

  71. hello my snap score is 33.25.can i expect a call

  72. i hav got 27.5 in snap n currently i m having almost 2 years experience.so how it will count if i want to apply for siom.

  73. sir, i scored 20.75 in SNAP.should i register for any symbiosis institute.

  74. sir, i scored 20.75 in snap.Should i register for any institute?

  75. hi i,ve got 43 in snap 2009
    i am an sc candidate..
    please someone tell me the expected cut off for sibm bangalore
    what all colleges should i apply for
    reply ASAP

  76. hi,
    i got 71 percentile in CAT, in which institutes should i apply?

  77. hi
    my snap score is 42 where should i apply

  78. sir my snap 2008 score is 43.75..i wanna knw is there mba biotech in any colg of snap..is my score ellgible 4 it???

  79. I have a snap score of 54.3.I will be thankful if any one can tell me about my chances of getting into SIBM.I have a MAT score of 95.12 percentile.Will it help any way.

  80. sir my scores are as follws

    cat 38 percentile
    snap 32

    which college should i apply

  81. hello my snap score is 24.75 can i expect a call

  82. I HAVE GOT 48 MARKS IN SNAP2008..CAN YOU TELL ME TO WHICH INSTITUTE OF SYMBIOSIS CAN I APPLY..ALSO I GOT 55 PERCENTILE IN CAT AND 576 IN MAT..PLEASE SUGGEST ME SOME OF GOOD COLLEGES WHICH ACCEPT THESE SCORES

  83. my snap score is 30, mat score is 74% ,cat score is 38% plz give me name of colleges that i could apply

  84. i have got 35 marks in snap will i get a call in sims

  85. i have got 97% in dec mat 2008 and 65% in cat so which college will be best for me. please send an email on my id.

  86. sir, I’ve got 51.75 score in SNAP. Will I get any call from any of the Symb. institutes like SCIT, SICSR, SIIB, etc. Please tell me frankly…

  87. I am getting 41.75 in SNAP . In which colleges should I apply whose last date has not gone.Pz reply sooooon.

  88. HI my SNAP score is 65.75 , so which college should I expect

  89. Hi i have got 38.75 marks in snap2008.i applied for sims as i m in defence quota.. can i accept the call in this score? how is the college?

  90. i have got 91.86 percentile in CAT 2008 plus i have 3 years of work-x
    Which colleges should i apply?

  91. i have got 29 marks in snap will i get a call in sims or others

  92. hi have got a 44 in snap cn i gt a call from sims , iam a defence personnel dependant

  93. sir i had scored 57(74.34%ile) marks in cat 2008 do i will get admission in any of the colleges….i have a work experience of 8 months with companies like havells and TATA motors…kindly help me out…

  94. can you tell me the expected cut-off for siom

  95. i got 44%le in Snap 2008.can you tell me which institute i can apply for?

  96. I can achive averge 50%ile.where i can apply.plz reply

  97. sir i gt 49.2% marks in graduation in economics hons bt i filled fr improvnt so i covered atlst 50 % marks till may end. sir is it possble fr me so that i shall apply fr snap test. plzz if its possble thn do tell me

  98. sir i got 91 percentile in may mat .please suggest which college should i go.

  99. i had completed my bsc biotechnology and want to opt for mba biotechnology pls suggest me good institute for MBA(BIOTECH)

  100. do i have any chance to take admission because i scored 37 marks in 2009 snap

  101. sir, i got 72 in snap 09 can i expect a call from siib? please help

  102. Sir,
    I will get around 48 marks in SNAP 09. I have 2 yrs of exp as Business Analyst in MNC. Which are the colleges i should apply??
    Please help.
    Thanks in advance

  103. sir,
    i am expecting to get 80+ marks in snap 2009. but i have not ateempted gk nd have just 8 marks in english…can i aplly to any college….and please tell me which college considers sectional cut off….please mail me ….thank u

  104. sir,i got 40 score in snap test 2009….do u think i should apply fr any symbiosis colleges??

  105. sir, i got 40 score in snap test 2009…do u think i should apply for any symbiosis colleges??
    i have done b.com and i have diploma in hospitality and aviation management. i have worked in aviation industry for six months.
    Do you think i should apply for SIMS ?
    please help me.

  106. sir , i scored 61.75 in SNAP 2009 .I am an SC category student …Is there any chance of getting a call from SCMHRD??..pls reply!!

  107. sir,i have got 46 marks in snap 2009……which col should i apply…..

  108. sir, i got 65 % in dec mat…which col should i apply…..

  109. can you please tell me what my approximate percentile would be if i got a score of 34 in snap . just the appox i know its not possible to calculate.

  110. sir, i scored 32.25 in snap test 2009….i applied for sibm and as i am ST.. can i accept the call in this score? if not than any other colleges??

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

